My Children’s Book and Overcoming Fear

SONY DSC

It is with a mixture of humility and hard-to-contain excitement that I am thrilled to announce the release of my first book, Bruce the Brave! A children’s tale that will endear readers of all ages, Bruce the Brave is a heartwarming story about an adventurous little boy who finds the faith to overcome his biggest fear.

This is a story for my own children, for your children, and for YOU. These are words I weaved together several years ago, and now they are available to you! It’s a story of adventure, courage, and faith.

But if I’m completely honest, this story is so much more. Because these simple pages of ink and paper are the tangible expressions of perfectionism and fear laid aside.

Bruce the Brave: a tale of faith to overcome fear

Friends, it took me four years to publish this book. FOUR YEARS. I wrote it, commissioned the artwork, and then … it sat. It sat on my desk collecting dust for four years because I was scared. Scared that I wouldn’t find the right publisher, scared that it wasn’t perfect, scared that the work of my heart might fall flat.

But fear is not of the Lord.

Bruce the Brave: a tale of faith to overcome fear
Bruce the Brave: a tale of faith to overcome fear
So I published it. I FINALLY published it. With the patient encouragement of my husband and the gentle urging of some beloved women whom I have the blessing of calling my new friends, I set perfectionism and fear aside and took a step of faith.

This is the result. It is a story for your kids and a story for you. It is a story for us ALL. Because sometimes we all need to be reminded of the real and beautiful truth that is is He who makes us BRAVE.

Bruce the Brave: a tale of faith to overcome fear

If you’d like to purchase Bruce the Brave, you can buy it from Amazon or direct from the publisher. It’s currently on sale at Amazon! (Though I don’t know how long the sale will last.) Go grab a copy for yourself, your kids, or to give as a gift. It would bless me immensely to share this book and its message with you!

Your support means the world to me. Thank you, friends! (I’ll be announcing a giveaway in the next few days, so be sure to stay tuned!)

/ / /

For more content like this, connect with me on FacebookInstagramand Twitter! If you’re new, welcome! To receive more encouraging posts AND get a free printable, enter your e mail in the box to the sidebar at the right. Then just click “I want to Follow F&C!” Be sure to check your inbox for the confirmation and the link to your free printable. You can also follow F&C on BlogLovin’

All content is ©Faith&Composition by Shalene Roberts, unless otherwise noted. All rights reserved. If you like F&C content, I’d be tickled pink if you would share. Just please include a link to the original post. Thank you!

  • Spring Refresh

    We updated our youngest daughters’ room with the ultimate IKEA Pax hack! Create your own custom, built-in wardrobe with this simple project.

  • Italy Family Travel Guide Part 4 – Florence & Tuscany

    Step into the enchanting region of Tuscany and Florence through the eyes of our family’s adventure! Join us as we navigate the cobblestone paths, savoring every moment of art, culture, and cuisine. From the iconic Florence Cathedral to the breathtaking views of the Arno River, immerse yourself in the rich history, exquisite architecture, and vibrant…

  • An Easter Gift – The Timeless Truths Bible

    The Timeless Truths Bible features devotional notes and commentary from trusted theologians from the second century on, ancient creeds and confessions of the faith, plus artwork made throughout the history of Christianity

  • Italy Family Travel Guide Part 3 – Rome

    “A fool is one who admires other cities without visiting Rome.”-Francesco Petrarca, Italian Poet The Eternal City We arrived into the storied history and the glorious chaos of Rome in the early evening via the Frecciarossa high speed train. The ride from Venice is just a few hours and is easy to navigate with children.…

  • Italy Family Travel Guide Part 2 – Venice

    The salty sea air saturated our senses as we stepped out of the airport, a stark contrast to the stale air circulating through the plane from which we’d just disembarked. It was late in the evening, and darkness had descended as we stepped aboard our water taxi and sped towards Venice. Part 2 of our…

  • Have Kids Will Travel – Our Family Trip to Italy

    Our family of 7 recently embarked on a 12-day trip to Italy. Here’s part 1 of our trip review, including our itinerary and what we packed for our time in Venice, Rome, Florence and Bellagio.

5 responses to “My Children’s Book and Overcoming Fear”

  1. So glad to hear that you overcame your fear! I share it! But I subscribed to your blog long ago because I recognized your talent and your ability to write your heart. God bless!

    Like

Your gracious thoughts …